Blog

Driving Under the Influence

In Texas, you are legally intoxicated when your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) reaches 0.08%, but you are breaking the law as soon as drugs or alcohol affect your driving ability. Even a small amount of alcohol can affect driving ability. In 2019, there were 1,775 people killed in alcohol-related crashes where a driver had a BAC of just .01%-.07%. According to the NHSTA, about 28 people in the United States die in drunk-driving crashes every day — that's one person every 52 minutes.

The solution is simple: If you drink, do not drive.
  • Plan a safe ride home before you start drinking by choosing a designated driver or planning to take a Lyft, Uber, or taxi.
  • If someone you know has been drinking, do not let that person get behind the wheel. Take their keys and help them arrange a safe ride home.
  • If you're hosting a party where alcohol will be served, make sure all guests leave with a sober driver.
  • If you see an impaired driver on the road, contact local law enforcement — your actions could help save lives.
Penalties for driving under the influence in Texas include:
  • First offense
    • Up to a $2,000 fine
    • Up to 180 days in jail upon conviction with three mandatory days
    • Loss of driver license up to a year
  • Second offense
    • Up to a $4,000 fine
    • One month to a year in jail upon conviction
    • Loss of driver license up to two years
  • Third offense
    • $10,000 fine
    • Two to 10 years in prison
    • Loss of driver license up to two years

Receive All the Latest News and Information from TXAPA